Use Up Those Egg Yolks!

So, our final home study visit for December 1st was postponed. It was really disappointing, but I was super sick last week with the cold that wouldn’t end, so I guess it was ok. Sort of.

We’re trying to find a date sooner rather than later to get that rescheduled. We really want this part done and not hanging over our heads for Christmas. The paperwork and runaround are killing us.

IMG_20171103_121120_877.jpg

Souvenirs from my trip to Michigan a couple months ago. Because everyone buys souvenirs from stores they can shop at at home, right?

Plus, we’re really ready to put these adorable nursery items into use.

Anyway…

If you saw my post about the angel food cake recipe, you will remember that I used 12 egg whites to make that delicious fluffy cake and also that I needed to find a way to use up the 12 left over egg yolks left over.

So since Pinterest is my BFF, I headed right on over there and did some research. Three different foods jumped right out at me: lemon curd, homemade chocolate pudding, and fettuccine alfredo.

I’ve been looking at recipes using lemon curd for ages, but I’ve always been intimidated by the whole cooking on the stove thing. Plus the recipe calls for 5 egg yolks which means wasting the whites. Perfect timing, eh? I didn’t use my food processor for this recipe. Instead I zested the lemons myself and mixed the ingredients by hand.

OMG y’all – it tasted like liquid lemon bars! (For those of you who don’t know, I’ve been making outstanding lemon bars since I was in grade school. Some of my friends still request them for every gathering.)

I didn’t have any cupcakes or cookies or cakes to use the lemon curd for so since it freezes well, I’ve still got some handy, just waiting for the next baking inspiration to strike.

Next up, I found a Martha Stewart recipe for homemade pudding. I usually stick with the standard Jell-o instant pudding because it’s easy and usually tastes pretty good. Plus, once again, old fashioned homemade pudding requires all that stove cooking which is intimidating.

Oh boy, does Martha know her stuff. The pudding was super chocolate-y and creamy, and I think with some slight modifications, it would make an outstanding French silk pie! I am for sure going to try that in the near future.

Last but not least…..

I can’t eat onions so my Italian restaurant food options are limited. Luckily, I love fettuccine alfredo. When I make it at home, it’s yummy, but my recipe always ends up a bit oily, especially when I reheat it the next day. So with a few yolks left to use up, when I found an alfredo recipe that takes 2 egg yolks, I figured I’d try it and see if it helped.

Made dinner planning for the night easy too.

It turned out to be really good! It was still a bit oily when I reheated it for lunch the next day, but not as much as usual. Restaurant alfredo is the same way so it wasn’t a big deal. The sauce was thicker than when I usually make it so I liked that as well. Since it was a last minute decision, I had to improvise on a couple ingredients so I think when I make it again, it will be even better.

All in all, I was THRILLED with my 12-egg experiments! Everything turned out amazing. Although next time, I’ll make sure to remember to take pictures…. Blogger FAIL!

At least I remembered the pre-experiment selfie!IMG_20170819_172713106.jpg